

Incorporated Reg. No. A00B5378F A.B.N. 62 539 038 013

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Tuesday 4 May 2021 6.00 pm Hawker Library, Corio Campus

DRAFT MINUTES

Present: **Committee**: President Ian Coltman (A'77), Co-Vice President Simon Kemp (Cu'70), Treasurer Will Richardson (M'02), Honorary Secretary Katie Rafferty (Spry, Ga'84), Andrew Burgess (FB'81), Susie Donald (The Hermitage '75), Tristan Dwyer (Fr'01), Bill Ferguson (P'72) and Margie Gillett (Cordner, Clyde '71), Sandy Mackenzie (FB'59), and James Robinson (FB'77)

Ex Officio: Rebecca Cody, Principal, Paddy Handbury, Chair of Council, Penelope McBain (Honorary OGG), Chair of the Foundation Board

18 Members of the Old Geelong Grammarians Association were in attendance.

Apologies: Committee: Annabel Bainger (Southey, Cl'02), Elly Grace (Siperki, Cl'94), Sophia Marsden-Smith (McQuillan, Fr'09) and Rob Perry (A'83),
Ex-Officio: Brendan McAloon, Director of Community Relations,
Old Geelong Grammarians: David Bowser (Fr'90), Peter Chomley (Ge'63), Rob de Fegely (FB'74), Andrew Farran (P'56), Ben Grodski (FB'91), Geoffrey Hammond (FB'67), David Henry (FB'70), Eliza Holt (Ga'96), Adam Kempton (P'75), Evan Ould (FB'74), Paul Seller (Honorary OGG), Andrew Swan (Fr'07), Tim Tyler (P'54), Christine Walker (Honorary OGG) and Brad Walter (A'91, Honorary and Life OGG)

2. Confirmation of the minutes of the 2020 Annual General Meeting.

The minutes of the 2020 Annual General Meeting were accepted and adopted.

Moved: Ian Coltman; Seconded: Simon Kemp; Carried

3. Matters arising from the minutes of the last meeting May 5 2020.

There were no matters arising from the minutes of the 2020 AGM.

- 4. The Roll of Honour was read aloud and is attached to these minutes.
- 5. Principal's Update.

The Principal presented an update on the School

6. The President's Report

The President's Report was given by Ian Coltman and accepted. It is attached as an appendix to these minutes.

A copy of the President's Report will be available in the September 2021 Annual Report and on the website.

7. The Financial Report for the year ended 31 December 2020 was received and accepted.

Moved: Ian Coltman; Seconded: James Robinson; Carried

8. Ian Coltman moved that as the Auditors for the 2020 financial year, Grant Thornton be reappointed for the 2021 financial year.

Motion that the Auditors Grant Thornton be appointed for the 2021 financial year.

Moved: Ian Coltman; Seconded: Will Richardson; Carried

9. Election of Committee Members

Nominations have been received for current committee members whose two-year terms have come up and they wish to nominate for re-election: Will Richardson (M'02), Susie Donald (The Hermitage '75), Tristan Dwyer (Fr'01), Margie Gillett (Cordner, Clyde '71), Elly Grace (Siperki, Cl'94) and Rob Perry (A'83).

As there were no further nominations received, all of those named above were deemed to be elected or re-elected to the Old Geelong Grammarians Inc. Committee.

All were in favour of these nominees: Carried

10. The President formally acknowledged Laurenz Watters (A'20) the recipient of the OGG Prize for Dux of the School in and comradeship 2020.

11. Honorary OGG awards were re-announced for the 2020 year as they were unable to be presented at the 2020 AGM as it was a video conference. Staff members Pam Bennett (Administrator in the Human Resources Department at Corio), Jane Marney (Teaching staff at the Bostock Campus), Paul Seller (Resident Tutor of Cuthbertson House and Director of IT at Corio), Christine Walker (Alliance Catering Staff, notably Head of the Salad Bar at Corio) and Brad Walter (Information Services and Support along with IT Projects at Corio). Of the recipients, Pam Bennett was presented with her OGG ring.

Honorary OGG awards were announced for 2021 recipients Sharon Backwell, Peter Bajer, Deborah de Clifford, Penelope McBain, Reverend Howard Parkinson and Barbara Quinn. Each was presented with their OGG ring or tie.

12. General Business.

12.1 Margie Gillett commented on how nice it was to be back in the Hawker Library. She thanked Rebecca Cody for returning the library to everyone.

12.2 Charlie Sutherland (P'86, Foundation board member, Chairman of the Biddlecombe Society) sincerely thanked the President, and all the Committee of the OGGA for the support provided to the Biddlecombe Society in recent years, through attendance at Society events, as well as valued contributions to the Committee. He thanked Susie Donald and Rob Perry for serving both on the OGG Committee and the Biddlecombe Society Committee and mentioned he is looking forward to further collaboration and cooperation. He also thanked all OGGs, who had already made the decision to leave a bequest, in the form of a gift to GGS, in their Will to support the future of the School. He outlined that while the Biddlecombe Society membership is not limited to OGGs, the vast majority of the 226 members are OGGs

12.3 Sandy Mackenzie on behalf of the OGG Committee thanked President, Ian Coltman for his leadership and comradeship during the year.

The Meeting was declared closed at7.11pm.